Alabama vs Auburn
First game: Feb. 22, 1893 (Auburn won 32-22)
At stake: Iron Bowl 
When: Late November 
Where: Bryant-Denny Stadium, Tuscaloosa or Jordan-Hare Stadium, Auburn 

The teams did not face each other for 41 years (1908-1948), in 
part because the schools agreed it would "result in an over-emphasis 
of football in the state". The Mobile Register indicates that the 
driving force behind the stoppage of the series after the 1907 season 
was a dispute over $34. Auburn wanted an increase in the per diem 
money for the 1908 game in Birmingham, from $2 per player, covering 
meals and lodging. Alabama balked. The teams tried to revive the 
series in the years after that, but were unsuccessful. 

Ten games to remember:
1. 1993: With Auburn unable to play on TV because of NCAA probation, 
thousands of fans watch on big-screens at Bryant-Denny Stadium in 
Tuscaloosa. The Tigers, under first-year coach Terry Bowden, win 
22-14 to cap Auburn's first and only 11-0 season.

2. 1992: On the eve of the game, Auburn coach Pat Dye announces his 
resignation. 'Bama wins 17-0 on the way to the national championship.

3. 1989: No. 2 Alabama is 10-0 when it plays at Auburn for the first 
time. The 11th-ranked Tigers win, 30-20. Six weeks later, 'Bama coach 
Bill Curry resigns.

4. 1985: Alabama's Van Tiffin kicks a 52-yard field goal as time runs 
out for a 25-23 win. The lead changes four times in the final quarter.

5. 1982: Auburn, under coach Pat Dye, ends Alabama's nine-game winning 
streak in the series in Bear Bryant's final Iron Bowl. Bo Jackson 
scores the winning TD on a 1-yard, fourth-down leap over the line.

6. 1981: Bryant passes Amos Alonzo Stagg as college football's all-
time winningest coach with a come-from-behind 28-17 win. It's the 
first meeting between Bryant and Dye, his former assistant.

7. 1972: Alabama leads 16-3 with 5:30 left, but Auburn's Bill Newton 
blocks two punts and David Langer runs both in for TDs in a 17-16 win. 
Auburn celebrates the "Punt, Bama, Punt" victory; Alabama wins the next 
nine straight.

8. 1971: Alabama wins 31-7 in a game between two unbeaten, top 5 teams.

9. 1957: Auburn wins 40-0 to clinch its only national championship, 
and the J.B. "Ears" Whitworth era ended for Alabama. The next coach? 
Paul Bryant.

10. 1948: The game returns from a 41-year hiatus stemming from a 
dispute over officials and per diem expenses, and the Tide wins 55-0.