Guaranteed Rate Bowl: Kansas 49, Nevada-Las Vegas 36

College Football

Associated Press

PHOENIX - Jason Bean threw for 449 yards and all six of his touchdown passes to two receivers, and penalty-plagued Kansas outlasted UNLV 49-36 in the Guaranteed Rate Bowl.

The Jayhawks (9-4), ranked 14th nationally for fewest penalties with 55 during the regular season, were flagged 18 times for 210 yards, including four personal fouls.

They made up for it with an explosive offense that produced 591 total yards at Chase Field, home of baseball’s Arizona Diamondbacks.

Luke Grimm had four catches for 16 yards and three touchdowns. Lawrence Arnold added six catches for 132 yards and three more scores, giving Kansas two receivers with three touchdowns in a game for the first time in program history.

Bean finished 19 of 28 and overcame two interceptions in the third quarter to lead Kansas to its first postseason win since the 2008 Insight Bowl, also in Phoenix.

Jayden Maiava threw two touchdown passes in the third quarter to rally UNLV (9-5) nearly all the way back from a 21-point deficit early in the second, but the Rebels couldn’t stop Kansas.

Maiava added a 50-yard touchdown pass to Senika McKie and finished 24 of 35 for 291 yards with two interceptions.

UNLV got off to a fast start in its first bowl game since 2014, moving quickly down the field for Maiava’s 3-yard touchdown pass to Vincent Davis.

Bean took over from there, hitting Grimm on touchdowns of 6 and 60 yards, and a 15-yarder to Arnold. Devin Neal’s 1-yard run put Kansas up 28-10 at halftime.

Maiava rallied UNLV to 28-24 with a pair of TD passes, but Kansas kept scoring.

Bean hit Arnold on touchdown passes of 40 and 56 yards, then put the Jayhawks up 49-30 with a 43-yard TD to Grimm.


Kansas: The Jayhawks picked a bad time to become undisciplined, but got away with it because of their explosive offense.

UNLV: The Rebels managed to rally most of the way out of the big early hole, but never could catch the Jayhawks and remained winless in bowl games since 2000.

Decemvber 26, 2023


CBS 041024DISN