Chris Bergeron named head coach at Miami of Ohio

Bowling Green head coach Chris Bergeron has resigned from the Falcons to accept the same position at his alma mater, Miami of Ohio.

"On behalf of my family and myself, I want to say a very sincere 'Thank you' for the last nine years," Bergeron said. "Your unconditional support from our early rebuilding years to the turnout last Saturday in Allentown has meant more to me than you will ever know. The last few days have been very difficult for me because President (Rodney) Rogers, Bob Moosbrugger and Jim Elsasser stepped up and showed their commitment to Falcon hockey. Having to choose between two places that I love dearly has been the toughest decision I have ever had to make. Thank you for allowing me to be part of this program that means so much to all of you. We are extremely proud that we are leaving the program better than we found it."

In nine years at Bowling Green, Bergeron went 171-154-4. The Falcons advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the first time in 29 years, dropping a 2-1 overtime decision to defending national champion Minnesota Duluth.

"As someone who returned to their alma mater, I understand the attraction to return to a place that you consider home," BGSU Director of Athletics Bob Moosbrugger said. "We are thankful for the nine years of leadership in our hockey program from Chris Bergeron. In the same way that he asks his players to leave the program better than they found it, he has done the same at Bowling Green. This is a great job and we have already begun the national search to find the individual who will continue to elevate our program."

BGSU Hockey has won 20 or more games in five consecutive seasons, advancing to the WCHA Championship game twice in the last three years. The Falcons have won at least one best-of-three playoff series in nine straight years the most in the country.

In the six years that Bowling Green has competed in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association (WCHA), the Falcons have finished in the top three of the regular standings five times. BGSU also won the 1984 NCAA Division I National Championship.


April 5, 2019

Men's Basketball
  Jordan Rawls commits to Western Kentucky
  Matthew Hurt commits to Duke
  Chris Harris Jr commits to Oklahoma State
  Jay Ladner named Southern Miss coach
  Texas State extends Kaspar through 2023
  ODU extends basketball coach Jeff Jones 2 years
  Harlond Beverly commits to Miami
  John Brannen named Cincinnati men's basketball coach
  Cashius McNeilly commits to Texas A&M
  Auburn signs Bruce Pearl to five-year contract
  Austin Crowley commits to Mississippi
  Air Force signs Pilipovich to three-year extension
  Steve Alford named Nevada head coach
  Southern Miss coach Doc Sadler steps down
  Mark Pope named head coach at BYU
  UCLA hires Cincinnati's Mick Cronin as basketball coach
  Virginia 85, Texas Tech 77
  Mike Young named Virginia Tech head coach
  Arkansas names Eric Musselman men's basketball coach
  Minnesota extends Pitino
  Texas Tech 61, Michigan State 51
  Virginia 63, Auburn 62
  Buffalo promotes Whitesell to take over basketball program
  Jerry Stackhouse new head coach at Vanderbilt
  Georgia State hires Tennessee assistant Rob Lanier as coach