119 underclassmen declare for NFL draft

Quarterbacks Sam Darnold, Lamar Jackson and Josh Rosen are among the record 106 underclassmen given special entry to the NFL draft, making it four of the last five seasons in which at least 95 players have declared early. The NFL released Friday the official list of college players who have requested early entry. Another 13 players who had eligibility remaining are eligible for the draft after notifying the NFL that they had completed requirements for a degree, including Wyoming quarterback Josh Allen. Another four players, including Nebraska quarterback Tanner Lee, had inquired about their draft status and were eligible without the need for special eligibility. Of the 119 underclassmen heading into the draft, LSU has the most with seven players. Florida State has six players. The NFL draft will be held April 26-28 in Dallas. The previous high for underclassmen given special entree by the NFL was 98 in 2014. Last season, there were 95 players given special entree, and the year before there were 96. That number was 74 in 2015, according to the NFL. Of the 95 underclassmen allowed into the draft last year, 28 (29.5 percent) were not drafted. In 2016, 31 percent (30 of 96) went undrafted. Last season, the top four picks in the draft and 11 of the top 12 were underclassmen, either having been granted special eligibility or having completed a degree. Underclassmen are likely to again be prominent at the top of the first round, led by Darnold and Rosen. The quarterback-starved Cleveland Browns have the first and fourth picks overall in the draft. Penn State running back Saquon Barkley, Alabama safety Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama receiver Calvin Ridley, Ohio State cornerback Denzel Ward and Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith are among the other juniors considered among the best players available at their positions and possible top-15 picks.
January 19, 2018

Mayfield named 2017 Manning Award winner

The former Oklahoma quarterback has been named the winner of the 2017 Manning Award, which was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes into consideration the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting. The award is voted on by a panel of local and national media, as well as each of the Mannings.
January 18, 2018

NCAA approves proposal to start the college basketball season earlier

The NCAA has approved a proposal to move the start of the college basketball season from the second Friday in November to the Tuesday before the second Friday in November.
January 17, 2018

WR Stepherson among 4 Notre Dame players dismissed from team

Notre Dame wide receiver Kevin Stepherson, who was suspended for the Fighting Irish's Citrus Bowl against LSU after being accused of shoplifting, and three other players have been dismissed from the team. Athletic department spokesman Michael Bertsch said Tuesday night that Stepherson, sophomore running backs Deon McIntosh and CJ Holmes and junior defensive tackle Brandon Tiassum were no longer with the team. No other details were provided. Stepherson, a junior, caught 19 passes for 359 yards and five touchdowns this season. He was held out of the first five games of 2017, though Notre Dame coach Brian Kelly never explained why. Stepherson and Holmes were arrested in December for shoplifting at a South Bend, Indiana, area mall. McIntosh was sent home from the bowl for a violation of team rules.
January 17, 2018

UCF celebrates self-proclaimed national title at Disney

Unbeaten UCF celebrated its self-proclaimed national championship with a parade at Disney World on the eve of the College Football Playoff final. The Knights (13-0) finished with the only perfect season in the Football Bowl Subdivision with a Peach Bowl victory over Auburn, which during the regular season beat both Alabama and Georgia, who'll meet in the CFP championship game Monday night in Atlanta. UCF feels its accomplishment in winning the American Athletic Conference championship was undervalued by the CFP selection committee, which listed the Knights 12th in the panel's final rankings. After beating Auburn on New Year's Day, UCF athletic director said the Knights were declaring themselves national champions and intend to hang a championship banner at the school's stadium. In addition, the coaching staff is going to be paid bonuses for winning the self-proclaimed title. The celebration, also featuring UCF cheerleaders and the school's marching band, began with Sunday's parade down Main Street, USA at Disney World. It resumes Monday night with a pep rally and free block party in downtown Orlando.
January 8, 2018

13 inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Former Montana quarterback Dave Dickenson was one of 13 people named to the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class on Monday. Dickenson passed for 13,486 yards and 116 touchdowns and rushed for 21 more scores in his Griz career from 1992-95, winning the 1995 Walter Payton Award as the FCS (then Division I-AA) offensive player of the year. Other players named to the 2018 class were quarterback Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1991-94); running backs Trevor Cobb (Rice, 1989-92) and Paul Palmer (Temple, 1983-86); wide receiver Calvin Johnson (Georgia Tech, 2004-06); offensive linemen Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1995-98) and Aaron Taylor (Nebraska, 1994-97); linebackers Dana Howard (Illinois, 1991-94) and Ed Reed (Miami, 1998-2001) and Charles Woodson (Michigan, 1995-97). Coaches in the class were Frank Beamer (Murray State and Virginia Tech), Mack Brown (Appalachian State, Tulane, North Carolina and Texas) and Mel Tjeerdsma (Austin College and Northwest Missouri State). The inductees will be honored at the National Football Foundation's annual awards dinner on Dec. 4 in New York. The College Football Hall of Fame is located in Atlanta.
January 8, 2018

Shaw named Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year

David Shaw of Stanford has won the Dodd Trophy as coach of the year. The award honors scholarship, leadership and integrity, as well as success on the field. Stanford has earned an Academic Progress Rating (APR) score of 985 and a graduation success rate of 96 percent under Shaw. Clemson, Duke, Northwestern and Wisconsin are the only other FBS teams to earn APR public recognition awards from the NCAA in each of the past four years. The Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation is presented annually by the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.
December 21, 2017

Former Syracuse assistant Lewis takes over at Kent State

Sean Lewis has been introduced as Kent State's new football coach. Syracuse's co-offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach the past two seasons, Lewis takes over a Kent State program that went 2-10 last season and won only 14 games in five years under Paul Haynes, whose contract was not renewed. The Golden Flashes struggled mainly on offense, which Lewis is expected to help fix. He previously worked as an offensive assistant at Bowling Green and was on the Falcons' staff when the school won the Mid-American Conference title in 2015. The 31-year-old Lewis was credited with improving Syracuse's offense. Despite going 4-8 this season, the Orange knocked off defending national champion Clemson and averaged 27 points and 456 yards per game. Lewis' familiarity with the MAC is another plus, along with his ability to recruit in the Midwest. He played quarterback and tight at Wisconsin. ...more
December 21, 2017

Scott Frost wins Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year

Outgoing Central Florida head coach Scott Frost is this years winner of the Eddie Robison Coach of the Year Award
December 14, 2017

Eastern Michigan baseball coach Mark Van Ameyde leaving

Full press release
December 12, 2017

Fleet 728x90 banner