Baseball   Football   M Basketball   W Basketball

Johnny Bench Award

The Johnny Bench Award was created in 2000 to honor college baseball's top catcher. It is dedicated to the former Cincinnati catcher Johnny Bench, who by some is considered to be the best defensive catcher in baseball history. A panel of selected sportscasters, sportswriters, Division I Head Coaches and professional scouts participate in the final vote, usually at the annual College World Series, to determine the winner.


2015 - Garrett Stubbs, USC
2014 - Max Pentecost, Kennesaw State
2013 - Stuart Turner, Mississippi
2012 - Mike Zunino, Florida
2011 - Jake Lowery, James Madison
2010 - Bryan Holaday, TCU
2009 - JT Wise, Oklahoma
2008 - Buster Posey, Florida State
2007 - Edward Easley, Mississippi State
2006 - Jake Smith, East Carolina
2005 - Jeff Clement, USC
2004 - Kurt Suzuki, Fullerton State
2003 - Ryan Garko, Stanford
2002 - Jeremy Brown, Alabama
2001 - Kelly Shoppach, Baylor
2000 - Brad Cresse, LSU

MAGIX Software